Rock Goddess – ‘This Time’ album review

Band: Rock Goddess
Album: This Time
Release Date: 1st March, 2019
Label: Bite You To Death Records



Review by Angel 

Way back in a distant time when heavy metal was rock, yes ok it was 1977, two sisters in Wandsworth, South London decided to start a band. These sisters, Jody and Julie Turner, brought in a friend, Tracey Lamb, and they made plans to be a punk band. But thanks to their dad they decided against that, and so they became Rock Goddess.

Fast forward to 2013 when after several line-up changes and disbanding for many years, the three original members announced they had reformed and were planning a new album.
Nothing came of this but then in 2018 came the sad news that Tracey had left the band, but it was after recording a new album. She was replaced by Jenny Lane from Dorset but as the album was already recorded she does not feature on it.
At the HRH 2018 Awards I got to chat with the band, and Jenny said this was the first time she has played live with them. And wow she smashed it.

Ok down to the real stuff now, the album itself.
Opening track ‘Are You Ready’ hits you with the classic sound straight away.  Even though it has been over 30 years since their last album, Jody’s voice has not faded at all.
With lots of melodies from guitars and backing vocals, as in title track ‘This Time’, the album still packs a punch to make you rock with tracks like ‘Flying to See You’.

‘This Time’ is a kick arse album that is in the wrong year. It takes you back to a time when metal was metal.
It’s like an old drinking metal bar that plays loud music and each and every track shouts out “drink up we’re going to party”.

“This time” the girls have outdone themselves ( see what I did there?)


8 Out of 10 Flames



Track Listing:
1. Are You Ready?
2. Obsession
3. Two Wrongs Don’t Make A Right
4. Calling To Space
5. Flying To See You
6. Why Do We Never Learn?
7. This Time
8. It’s My Turn
9. Drive Me Away