Damaged Reich – ‘Death Becomes Us All’ album review

Band: Damaged Reich
Album: Death Becomes Us All
Release Date: 13th April, 2019
Label: Self Released



Review by John

There’s a chance you may not have heard of Oxfordshire thrashers Damaged Reich. But on the evidence of their debut, you’ll be hearing a lot from them in the future.

‘Death Becomes Us All’ is a no nonsense reminder of just how good thrash metal can be when done right, with 8 tracks of intense, head banging fury.

Opener ‘Unevil Genius’ pummels at the listener in a burst of unbridled force, before the band unleash ‘The Unknown’, a track that sounds like Exodus taking afternoon tea with Sacred Reich. In the middle of a riot.
Fast and uncompromising, it’s exactly how metal should sound.

A more groove oriented sound follows on ‘The Truth Was Never Known’, a track guaranteed to stir even the most passive of crowds into a frenzy, with the sort of sound that Pantera based an entire career around.

‘Damaged Reich’ follows next, with echoes of legendary Brit thrashers Xentrix given a makeover by mid-90s era Slayer. Intensely heavy even with the slower pace, it’s a belter of a tune that gets better with each listen.

Title track ‘Death Becomes Us All’ hurtles full throttle at the listener, as the pounding drums beat your brain into submission, while your body just wants to bounce around the room like a lunatic as the catchiest of sounds demands that you give in and embrace the metal, while screaming the chorus at the top of your lungs.

‘The Code’ wastes no time in setting out it’s stall, with killer riffs, and a back to basics approach which many similar bands seem to be lacking in of late.

The bounce and groove are back with a vengeance at the start of penultimate track ‘Victims Of Their Own Crime’, before pedal gets pushed firmly to metal and Damaged Reich unleash hell, battering your ears one minute and making you want to jump up and down the next.

As closing tracks go, the band play a blinder with the intense thrash sound of ‘Aftermath’ thundering along at 100mph and definitely not slowing down for horses.

Much more than a mere debut, ‘Death Becomes Us All’ is a solid statement of intent from a band not afraid to wear their influences proudly on their sleeves, and gives us a no frills slab of pure thrash goodness.

I was lucky enough to catch the band playing the Jager tent at Bloodstock last year, and on this evidence far bigger stages are surely just around the corner for one of the best sounding new bands on the British metal scene.

8 out of 10



Track Listing:
1. Unevil Genius
2.  The Unknown
3.  The Truth Was Never Known
4.  Damaged Reich
5.  Death Becomes Us All
6.  The Code
7.  Victims Of Their Own Crime
8.  Aftermath