Cancel The Transmission – ‘Live It Up’ album review

Band: Cancel The Transmission
Album: Live It Up
Release Date: 1st December, 2019
Label: Self Released



Review by Sean

South Wales boys Cancel the Transmission have fired out their debut album ‘Live It Up’ and attempted to set down a marker that they’re a band to be taken seriously from the get go.
Do they have what it takes though? Let’s have a listen and see, shall we?

‘Come Get Some’ kicks things off with a fast paced, heavy rock sound. Think Guns n Roses in party mode. Definitely one to chuck on with friends and booze around.
‘Take A Bow’ follows, and there’s a good groove to this one. It’s a catchy song too. And that riff to talents from the intro into the meat of the song is great. Pure fire.
‘Light Up The Night’ is a definite party anthem. I really enjoyed the solo, and I enjoyed the chorus even more. This one is a proper earworm, and you’ll have this chorus in your head for days after. Potential favourite for sure (check out the video below).

I loved the start of ‘One Way Ride’, it had proper ‘High Spirits’ vibes. Few bands can sound like this and be good in my books, High Spirits are one, and these lads look like joining them. That vibe continues throughout, by the way, and this is definitely my favourite song up to this point.
‘Can’t Get Enough’ has a real foot stomper of an intro. It’s a definite crowd interaction song. That beat is designed for clapping along to. I’ll admit I’m not a huge fan of this one, but it’s still not a bad song.
Sadly we now come to ‘In Your Arms Tonight’, the obligatory power ballad. I’ll pass on this one, cos I’m really not a fan of those.

‘Lies’ is much improved on the last two. It carries a bit more fire and purpose and is a fair bit more straight rock as well.
‘Back To The Start’ has a definite party groove to this one. You all know exactly what I mean. The beers are flowing, people have had three or four, the mood is light. That exact sound. It’s a good one, reminds me of happier times with people I don’t get to see any more. Another favourite pick.
Next it’s onto ‘Dance The Night Away’ and this has an excellent guitar riff opening. Proper stadium sound to it. It brings the curtain down on the album, and should absolutely bring it down live too. It’s not too fast paced, but it’s got a happy sound to it, and it’ll send ‘em home happy.

All in all I quite enjoyed this one. It’s not entirely to my taste, but occasionally it’s nice to step outside your comfort zone and discover something new. I’d step out and see these guys if they rolled into my town.

8 out of 10



Track Listing:
01. Come Get Some
02. Take A Bow
03. Light Up The Night
04. One Way Ride
05. Can’t Get Enough
06. In Your Arms Tonight
07. Lies
08. Back To The Start
09. Dance The Night Away